Talking South Korea Blues

Well, I’m writing this from home the day of my going away dinner. Expect my blogs to have a ton of Bob Dylan references (“Talkin’ World War III Blues”). Anyway, I bring it up because last night was a pretty awful night for sleep. My mind was racing and I just couldn’t get comfortable. When I finally did fall asleep at like 4:30 AM my sleep was troubled with just a ton of dreams about how everything could go wrong on my way to South Korea. The worst and most memorable one was my suitcase getting lost so I’d be over there with nothing.

I don’t think it helps that I’m feeling slightly under the weather. Mostly just a sore throat, and it is getting better, but I certainly don’t want to have to start out over there still sick.  I had actually planned to go to a clinic today early in the morning to possibly get some antibiotics, but that sure as hell didn’t happen.

I think the biggest reason for all the anxiety is just the scope of it all. And I’m still not even really feeling it yet. I may not really feel it until I leave my mom at the airport and find myself truly alone for the first time. I’ve been trying to research the city and South Korea and read blogs of people already over there. The only problem is that everyone’s experience is so different. I still don’t know quite what to expect when I get over there. I don’t even know what I hope it’ll be like when I get over there.

I might find myself surrounded by other foreign English teachers, which would definitely make the initial transfer a bit easier. I could also find myself the only foreign English teacher at the school, which could definitely make things a lot more complicated, but I’d definitely learn more and have a more authentic experience which I do definitely want. I’d hate to go over there and get through a whole year without learning more than a couple phrases or something, and I feel like having a bunch of other English speakers around me would be a hard crutch to let go.

Still, I won’t let a couple moments of anxiety get me down. I know deep down that the entire experience hinges on my attitude and how I approach every situation. That just means I’ll have to stay positive and open and things will be okay.

Now on a little more detailed oriented business I guess I will fill in some people on the final step in the E2 visa process. I’ll be leaving Columbus Tuesday night to go to Chicago. Wednesday I have my interview at 10:30 AM, and from what I’ve been told, it’s a pretty simple interview that just confirms personal information, why you want to go over there, and an excuse for me to surrender forty-five of my hard earned dollars to the great Republic of South Korea. Thursday will be a day of relaxation, perhaps a little sight seeing. Friday I’ll go back to the consulate, pick up my passport with the new visa stamp in it which gives me permission to work for a year in South Korea, and then I’ll be boarding an airplane ASAP. I still haven’t heard back from the school or the recruiter about that yet, but I hope that by later tonight, perhaps after dinner, I’ll know more, since they are 14 hours ahead of us, and I don’t think they do much business on the weekends.

I think it’s about time to wrap this up, but make sure to check back. Posts may be slow at first while I’m still in Chicago, and then while I’m still getting set-up in South Korea, but I’ll do my best to post every couple days at the very least, and hopefully eventually I’ll be posting 3-4 times a week, so stay posted.

Leave a Reply

