Random Pictures from the Weekend

This is technically my second blog of the day, but I’ll keep it short and mostly limited to pictures. After climbing the mountain yesterday I was pretty thirsty, but luckily, South Korea has the answer to thirst.

Are you thirstier than a motherfucker? Then put a nipple on this and suck it:

You’re goddamn right, that’s the motherfuckin’ Cass.

If vitality was a tangible object that could express itself through sound, this is what it would sound like.

This bottle contains 1.6 L (54 oz) of South Korea’s second shittiest beer. The esteemed position of first shittiest goes to Hite. It makes Natty taste like ambrosia. It’s got a very strange metallic zing to it. I feel like there’s a strong possibility drinking Hite could lead to lead poisoning.

A shot with my hand for scale. I couldn’t get a clear picture of the small text at the bottom, but it promised a “great tastes that’s easy to drink with less filling.” Oh, so close. But what product worth buying in South Korea wouldn’t have Konglish? I’d be disappointed if it didn’t.

This is Ojingeo. Dried squid. After drinking 1.6 L of Cass, I had a sufficient slant on to think that buying this would be a good idea. Dried squid is a very common drinking food. Unfortunately, there were two important things I failed to take into account. First of all, Ojingeo is not the same as the smaller squid I had become accustomed to eating, and has a much stronger taste. Secondly, I have no pepper paste to dip it in, so it’s not an entirely fantastic flavor to have in your mouth. I ate two legs, the head and a piece of the body and decided that any more might make me throw up.

Still, that being said, you can’t let food intimidate you. I think the most important thing is to really just try one thing you think will be gross once. You’ll most likely realize that if not delicious, it’s at least not nearly as bad as you imagine, and trying other things that you wouldn’t normally eat is a lot easier. I talk to South Koreans about how most Americans would never eat squid, octopus, pig intestine, etc… but I’m making an effort, and they seem to appreciate it.

Also, Chang-gi seems to think I’m some kind of genius because of my modest ability in Korean. Koreans simply don’t expect foreigners to speak any Korean, so speaking any is generally a good sign to them that you’re taking an interest in their language and culture. Actually going out of your way to learn Korean is even more impressive to them, and they’re almost always extremely helpful in answering questions you may have. Just being able to conjugate a verb after they tell me the dictionary form of it completely blows them away.

Anyway, short news, after my blog I went to eat, went home, studied a little, then did some walking. I walked a lot further than I meant, but I found another mountain I may climb another time. I wish I had taken my camera, because there’s always and abundance of super interesting things to take pictures of here, but I feel like constantly hauling around my big, clunky camera would make me seem tourist-y, and I don’t want to attract any more attention than I already do. I could notice people driving by in the road openly staring at me a I walked down the street. Also, taxi drivers always assume I’m lost, and several of them will stop and ask me if I need a ride.

Mr. Lee came by and took me out to a Jjokki Jjokki (I’m fairly certain this is a nonsense word in South Korean that just lends itself to easy advertising because it can be made into a face) and we had dinner and some beer and talked. He said that this Saturday he wants to take me to Seoul so I can do some voice acting for content for his program. I’ve never done anything like it, and there’s still like an 80% chance that it won’t happen, as with lots of the plans that Mr. Lee says he has for me, but it still seems like it would be pretty fun. We made plans to go to a cell phone shop tomorrow after work, so that’ll make me happy. He also knows I need Internet in my apartment and a bank account, so hopefully that should be taken care of soon. The last piece of news is that another foreigner should be coming later in the week, or next week, depending on how quickly his visa can be processed. That’ll make things better. Also, it seems that for the time being, Lawrence will be coming into work on Monday, and will continue to work until some kind of contract is reached or they can agree on some amount of compensation for the period that he did work.

Leave a Reply

