Drinko de Mayo

Well, I’ve been busy, as always, recently. Hence the not writing much. Mondays and Thursdays are pretty impossible for me to write, because of the language group, unless I feel like going to a PC Bang, which I never do.

Monday and Tuesday were Sports Day(s) at school. I took a bunch of pictures, so when I get organized I’ll upload them. Basically, each day one of half of the school is split into Blue and White teams and they compete in a variety of track and field events. I only got to see the last two events each day because of the time I come in, but it’s all they do all day. Come in at eight thirty and go straight to running around until 1 PM, and then they’re done for the day. It’s really different from anything in America. Koreans seemed genuinely surprised when I said we didn’t have Sports Day in America, because here it’s a national event. Literally every school participates on the same day, though this year it was postponed a week because of cold, rainy weather. It’s much warmer now. Definitely short and t-shirt weather.

Monday night I went to the language exchange. No Chang-ki, but I worked with another Korean named Pil-jin. Aside from one girl who’s a student at Nazareth University and lived in the States for awhile, he’s got the best English in the group, and he’s a really fun, excitable guy.

Wednesday, May 5th, here is a national holiday called Children’s Day. I guess it’s customary for kids to get presents or candy from teachers. It’s like a second birthday for kids. They kept bugging me to give them stuff. At first I kept telling them “No! No school is your present!” but I cracked on my last couple classes. Actually, the last three classes I didn’t do shit. F class had a vocab quiz from Jane, so since they were being quiet I just let them study on their own or with a partner. E class is one of my favorites, and they asked for free time, so I let them just fool around, drawing on the board or playing games on their cell phones and such. I was really tired (it’s hot as hell in my classrooms right now for some reason), so the prospect of free time was awesome. I let G class have free time too, and all they did was watch some super violent cartoon on the computer called Happy Tree Friends. I’m such an awful teacher.

Now, Children’s Day happily coincides with Cinco de Mayo, and the Rhythm and Booze (hereafter the RnB), was having a “tequila party” Tuesday night, so I headed up there with Dave, met Justin and got shit-housed. I don’t want to go into a lot of detail and make myself sound like a low-life (my mom reads this shit), but I got pretty drunk and did some un-Colin things (it was a tequila party — this was no surprise). Lot of fun though. Met a Korean guy who’s English name is Rod. We talked awhile and played some pool together, loser had to buy shots. We ended up splitting two games, so it worked out. He works as a music/entertainment manager. He says literally every day he goes to the office, works, then goes and gets fucked up at bars. He’d actually worked the last ten years in Hyundae, and only moved to Bucheon three weeks ago. He said he wanted to change his lifestyle since he’s getting older (just 30 years old), but he still finds himself at bars getting obliterated every night.

Woke up around 2 PM (I’m told we essentially closed out the bar, and bars here stay open till like 7 AM), and got a burrito in honor of Cinco de Mayo at some tiny Mexican restaurant with Dave, Dave (new Dave I met at the bar), and Justin. Afterward we met up with this Welsh guy named Graham. He’s a riot. His accent reminds me of The Mighty Boosh. We just chilled at Graham’s for a couple hours, then Dave and I took a bus home. Justin lives quite close to the Bucheon bus terminal. It was 6,400 won, just under six bucks, and it only took 1:15 to get back to Cheonan. Pretty good deal, methinks.

Someone tipped Dave off that in Yawoori there are more Western, proper bars. Some places call themselves Western bars, but they’re just Korean bars that serve over-priced Western beer. Korean bars are a much different environment. They don’t have open areas, just full of tables. I think Koreans are a little anti-social. They go out to drink at bars with friends, but they’re not really interested in meeting new people. The RnB is a legit Western bar, which is great. It’s really easy to walk around and meet people, so Friday Dave and I will be scouting out bars. Justin says he wants to come and check Cheonan out some time, so we need to do our research so we can show him a good time. I definitely won’t be going to Bucheon again this weekend though. I can only take so much.

Leave a Reply

