Pictures from Gagweonsa

There’s a bunch of pictures here from Gagweonsa, but I went alone, so I couldn’t learn much while I was there. Mostly just take pictures. Most of them will speak for themselves, so not much writing in this post.

Just says gagweonsa — Gagweon Temple.

It’s a little to see just how high it goes, but it’s in the neighborhood of 190 steps to the top to get to the Buddha statue.

One of my favorites from the bunch. I’ve noticed that Koreans tend to favor the child-like Buddha, as opposed to the morbidly obese Chinese Buddha.

The temple complex from above.

Lanterns are pretty and stuff. You could buy these and write your own little message on the paper hanging down from the lanterns.

Korean family for scale.

This is the second largest Buddha statue in Korea. It was enshrined in 1977 to pray for the reuniting of North and South Korea. It hasn’t worked so far. It measures 15 m (49 feet) tall, 30 m (98 feet) in circumference, 175 cm (5.7 feet) long ears, 30 cm (1 foot) long fingernails, and weighs 60 tons.

Some ladies selling paper lanterns to write shit on.

A smaller temple on the edge of the temple grounds.

A shrine to bobble heads?

Same room. I enjoy the fluorescent light coming out of the dragon’s mouth. Half-dragon, half-lightsaber, all badass.

These were small tiles you could also buy to write things on. There were literally thousands all over the temple grounds.

The main temple from just in front of it.

A huge paper lotus in the foreground, and in the back a monk leading a prayer session.

The main shrine to Buddha, et al.

Some of the detailed work above the shrine.

Dragons ‘in sich.

Two smaller satellite temples.

Tons of little Buddha graven images. God is going to be so pissed when he finds out.

Sorry lady, but bad timing on your part.

A little courtyard in front of the main temple.

Giant paper lantern.

Since I couldn’t ask anyone, I’m assuming they’re patron saints or something.

Another of my favorites. A child Buddha in a lotus on an elephant.

Just some structure near the courtyard that had a big bell on the second floor.

The main temple from afar beyond yon courtyard.

The angle was as such that I couldn’t really get the bell and the striker, so this is the best you get.

On the walk back to the bus stop, I saw this. It says ssamba noraebang — samba singing room. Apparently they cater to Shinto priests and hand-maidens.

On the bus ride home, I saw this. Today, Sesame Street is brought to you by the number three. Actually, there are elections for mayor of Cheonan and the Korean equivalent of Senators on June 3rd, so every busy street corner is peopled by women like these. They blast Korean pop music and have choreographed dances. I feel terrible for these middle-aged women. I suppose someone has to do it.

So, this was my Thursday. Afterward, I spent about seven hours playing pool at the Banana Bar, then got home at 7 AM after waiting for a bus home. Friday I just hung out, then went back to the Banana Bar again, but not nearly for as long as Thursday. Saturday I went to Gunsan. I took some pictures on the way, but it started raining quiet heavily just before I got there, and didn’t quit, so I don’t have many pictures. I’ll get those up whenever possible.

More on the rest of my recent news later.

Leave a Reply

