Heartbreak in South Korea

First I’ll knock out some more pictures:

The whole billboard with the previous zoo animal picture. If you want to play with English, I suppose easy English is the best kind. Let’s take another close look.

Oh great, expressions for medical conditions. Ever wondered how to say “I have diarrhea” in Korean? Seolsaleul hae. Literally, “I do diarrhea.” Seolsa also sounds very close to “salsa”. Maybe this is why Mexican food isn’t popular here.

Masks and sich.

David showing off the huge crab (most of the crabs on the beach were smaller than a fingernail) he caught. Several kids throughout the day could be see walking around with crabs in Gatorade bottles. One enterprising boy had six crabs in a plastic bag full of mud.

Selina showing off the turban shell she found with a small crab in it.

Ashley, left, and Sofia, right, examining a crab.

Thursday night, right after work, I went to the stadium in all my gear. All together, I had red OSU shorts, a Corea t-shirt (“Corea” is not Konglish, it’s a deliberate misspelling. It’s the cool way to spell Korea, much like all of the x-treme products in America.), a headband, horns, and a South Korean flag as a cape to top it all off. I didn’t get any pictures of myself on my own camera, but there are plenty on other people’s, so I’m sure to get them off Facebook whenever they’re uploaded.

Almost as soon as I pulled up to the stadium on my bike, cameramen and photographers kept coming over and asking me to cheer and shit so they could take pictures and film it. Especially once more people in our group showed up and they had a chance to film several foreigners, were they really interested. It seems to surprise a lot of Koreans that a foreigner would support their team. If it came down to it, I’d obviously root for America against South Korea, but as long as they’re not playing each other, there’s no reason I can’t cheer for both.

About half of the group. Left to right: Mi Suk (green shorts), Hyerim, Daniel, Lawrence, Andrew (Korean facing away), and J. Chang-ki showed up shortly thereafter, then we met up with Ruth and her two Korean friends Gina and Heather. Dave showed up right before kick-off.

I’m not entirely sure what that thing is on the left, but on the right was the host. There was a small stage where musical and dance acts performed before the game. Someone must’ve told him we were there, because at one point, he turned directly towards (we sat quite close to the field) and he addressed us in English: “Hello, foreigners! Nice to meet you! I love you! I’m someKoreanname, famous movie star!”  Once again, being white at a soccer game gets you noticed quickly. We were on the jumbotron several times before the game and during half time.

Unfortunately, the game didn’t go very well for Korea. To be blunt, Argentina is in a completely different league than Korea. In the first half, particularly, it was obvious that the speed and creativity of the Argentinian side was too much for the Koreans to handle. It almost seemed like there were two Argentinian players for every Korean on the field. However, South Korea scored right before the half ended as a Argentinian defender made a sloppy pass, was intercepted, and he ran past another defender to score. The stadium went absolutely berserk. Goddamn pandemonium. I, myself, have only lost my shit more completely on one occasion, that being when Ohio State won the national championship in 2002. The second half started much better, with South Korea applying some pressure and narrowly missing two shots which could’ve changed the game entirely. In the end, Argentina proved to be too much and scored two late goals to push it to 4-1.

I’ve leave you with one last picture. I give you, Collander Man:

Also to notice: the hot slice of sexy in the short shorts on the extreme left. I’ll admit that while Collander Man is photo worthy enough, it was certainly an ulterior motive of mine to get a picture of her without being completely obvious.

Tomorrow I’m heading to Incheon to meet up with Esther, a Korean teacher from Haesong that I met at the seashore camp. We’re going to check out some island called Womido. You know what that means. Even more pictures! Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

