Wish You Were Here

Well, I’ve had a pretty long, eventful week. Let’s recap!

Monday – Didn’t go to work. Ignored several calls from Mr. Lee. Went to Songtan with Steve to bum around. Had some really good Turkish food.

Tuesday – Skipped work again. Went to an interview. Got the job and signed a new contract. I should start the first or second week of March. I’m teaching in Cheonan, much closer to downtown, and my apartment will actually be in the downtown area, but I don’t know exactly where yet. Pretty stoked. I’m super excited about the new job, but it almost makes the last three weeks of this job even harder to accomplish.

Wedesday – Went to Hongdae to meet a friend. Just coffee, walking around, and dinner. Great time, though. Came back and had a couple beers at Dolce that night, but nothing too crazy.

Thursday – Just a night on the town in Cheonan. It was the Chinese New Year so pretty much everything was closed. I barely ate anything.

Friday/Saturday – Went back to Seoul to meet a friend, and joined up with some more Cheonan people later in the day. I’m not really sure how late I stayed out, but it was a good time. I didn’t get much sleep though, so Saturday after bumming around a couple new areas of Seoul, I went back home because I was so tired and my back ached so bad I couldn’t have survived another night in Seoul. I did end up in Dolce out of boredom, but after four beers I left.

Sunday – Caught up on some much needed sleep. Kind of did nothing all day. Watched a Korean movie. Really good. Really sad. Went to the language exchange. Honestly, I didn’t really want to go. I was kind of depressed, but it was a good way to kill a couple hours. I got cheered up a little. Still, not excited about going to work tomorrow. I’m going to ask my co-teacher Mia when we should tell the kids the program is going to be ending at the end of the month. Part of me wants to just do it as soon as possible so they all know. However, I don’t want to spill the beans too soon if Mia thinks it’d make the situation. I’m not really sure how it would, but whatever. I also spent a lot of time thinking about saying goodbye to my students. I’ve known for quite awhile in the back of my head that I would have to, but now that it’s just three weeks away, it’s much more tangible, I suppose. It’s going to be super hard to say goodbye to some of the kids. Knowing that I’m going to see some of my students only six more times, and then no more hurts a little, to be honest.

Oh well. I’ll just have to get over it.

One Response to “Wish You Were Here”

  1. should you really be posting this so freely on your blog? you don’t know if your employer is reading or not, and since you haven’t finished things up with him yet he could certainly take recourse by making your remaining interactions with him as difficult as possible.

Leave a Reply

