Deeper Shade of Soul

Yo, I know it’s been awhile since I’ve written anything. I guess I’ve been busy. Right now I’m sick as a dog. It didn’t keep me from driving all over and running some errands. Every pharmacy seems to be closed on Sunday. Such a bummer.

Anyway, I’m down to about two weeks of work left. Eleven days to be exact. My final day is February 28th. I’m still working on getting my release letter, but I have all my other paperwork in order. I think, maybe worst case scenario at this point is that I may have to go to Japan or something for a couple days if my boss really won’t give me a release letter, but since he’d have to pay for the ticket, I don’t imagine he’d choose spending more money rather than to just give me a piece of paper.

I’m not sure exactly why, but Friday night was a super slow night. Nobody was anywhere. I suppose a lot of people were on vacation and out of the country. I know a couple people going to… Thailand maybe? right now. While all the schools in the city were back in session this week, middle and high schools go right back to a two week vacation until March 1st essentially. I guess this week is for making up missed classes (like they’d ever cancel school for snow here) and moving kids to their new classrooms. I’m not sure exactly when the switch over happens at Buldang, but I’m assuming March.

My work week was pretty normal. Thursday was really terrible for some reason. My two youngest classes were just in the attitude to be complete brats. That gave me a wanger of a headache. Then my older, smarter classes, they were just boring as shit. There was like nothing good about that day. I made plans to meet people for dinner, so I ate a lot later than usual, which made my headache worse. On the way downtown, my bus was in a minor accident. Actually, it wasn’t even the bus. As we pulled up to a stop, a scooter rode between the bus and the sidewalk. I thought that was pretty ball-sy, especially considering at a bus stop you’d expect people to be getting off. Not two seconds after I think this, a second scooter comes through and slams into some guy stepping off the bus. They both go down. Then the guy on the scooter gets up and starts bitching at the bus driver for not pulling closer to the curb. Like it wasn’t completely his fucking fault. It was insane. So they bus driver basically told everyone to get off and wait for the next bus while he dealt with shit on the phone. And then we had to pay again to get on the second bus. I was livid.

Friday was much better. I took it pretty easy in my first two classes, then for my third and fourth periods I had a pizza party and showed The Emperor’s New Groove to Yellow class. Luckily, Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I now have a free period right before my last class, so they were able to stay and finish the movie. I certainly wasn’t wasting another precious day I have left with them to watch the last 20 minutes of a movie. Anyway, it felt really good to reward them. They’re very enthusiastic about the no Korean rule. I don’t even have to say anything, but as soon as kids walk in they’re all like “All right! No more Korean!” and get on each other’s case if they hear someone speaking Korean. It’s exactly how I wanted the rule to work out. Instead of getting mad at me for being disciplined, they get mad at the kid and bitch them out for me. Then, when other classes are like “Teacher, why do they have pizza party?” I just answer “They’re a very good class. They never speak Korean.”

Friday night was pretty slow with everybody out of town. I was kind of sick Friday when I woke up, so going out to the bars and screaming over music made it even worse when I woke up Saturday. Voice is shot. Bad sore throat. Really thick, congested, chesty cough. It’s not fun. Saturday night I just chilled at Oscar’s and watched a couple movies then went home. Somehow I feel even worse today. Which is why I wanted to buy medicine for the first time in like three years, but  naturally all the pharmacies are closed and department stores here don’t seem to have in-store pharmacies like in America. Perfect. I’m debating whether or not to go to the meeting tonight. If I don’t, I’m just going to sit home and do nothing. If I do go, I’m certainly not driving. It’s fine during the day, but at night it’s still cold as fuck driving on the scooter.

It finally seems like all the ice is off the road, so I’ve got my confidence completely back. After the little accident I had, I wasn’t exactly scared of driving, but I was certainly more cautious and aware of the possibility of there still being ice, even if I don’t see it, and the consequences. I feel rather lucky all I did in the accident was skin my knee, rip my jeans and knock a turn signal off. It could’ve been much worse for me, particularly considering I wasn’t wearing my helmet at the time.

Anyway, I think that’s about it for this blog. Just wasting some time while I download another Korean movie.

Leave a Reply

