Just Another Weekend in Cheonan

Well, another week has come and gone.  Aside from the field trip on Monday, it wasn’t the best week. There was only one other good thing all week, but we’ll get to that later.

Wednesday was pretty bad, mostly just because of my last class. They were just complete animals. I ended up making them put their heads down and staying silent for ten minutes, and I did this over the break so they didn’t get one. Because they were so out of control, Friday I was super strict on them. As soon as they came in I made everyone move the tables to the walls and made them all sit at their own table and turn away from everyone else so they couldn’t talk. The first 40 minutes was a test, which they all did pretty not good on.

Last half was self-study. I gave them homework Wednesday, but literally no students did it, so the first 15 minutes was them doing their homework in silence. Then we moved onto the grammar book and they worked for another 15 minutes in silence. The last ten minutes of class I let them push the tables back together and gave them a bit of a lecture. Two of the students are in the Tuesday and Thursday class, and I asked them which class they liked better– Tues./Thurs. or Mon./Wed./Fri. I explained to the other students that Tuesdays and Thursdays are a lot more fun and they end up doing less work because they behave better. I told them I didn’t have fun on Friday either, and that I would like to have more fun with them, but they have to change their behavior because it’s completely unacceptable.

Next week they’re going to have a review test over the whole unit we’ve done this month. I’m going to make it really hard. Fifteen spelling words and a different fifteen words for the fill in the blank section. I told the students that if half of them get 100% on the spelling and everyone gets at least 50% on the fill in the blank we can have a party. We’ll see how it goes. I’m going to add another condition on Monday. I’m going to give them class points and every time I have to discipline someone they lose a point. If they lose all the points, no party.

Friday with my kindergarten was also pretty shitty. Alex was super sad. He said his mom wasn’t at home and that she had gone to Grandma’s house. I tried asking why and for how long but couldn’t get a straight answer out of him. All day he wailed on and off. He’d be fine one second, then the next just bawling at the top of his lungs. He’s a very loud crier. He moans non-stop. It was really distracting, especially during story time, so I had him talk to the head teacher for a bit, and when he came back he just sat under a table.

Kate was also really sick for the first part of the day, so she just came in and laid her head on the desk and didn’t move or do anything for awhile, so I felt bad for her.   Again, during story time, Seoa got into some kind of disagreement with Mia and she became really whiny and difficult. At first she simple just got up and walked out of the room. I carried her back in and the only place she wanted to sit was on my lap, but I couldn’t really let her do that because I was trying to read a story to everyone, so she ended up sitting under the table with Alex and doing God knows what, but they were both cheered up by the end, so thank God for that.

The only good thing about Friday was Rachel’s behavior. She was pretty much perfect all day. She did all her work well. I didn’t have to nag her constantly to write things down. She was just overall probably the best she’s been in the past two months. She’s been improving slowly, but Friday was the first day where it was very obvious how she’s been changing. I was really pleased with that.

The only other good part of the week was my Thursday class at the end of the day. Beth decided a couple weeks ago we should have a gift-exchange between me and her for just the hell of it. So I got her a little cell phone charm of a super girl because her alter ego is Super B. She got me an awesome robot pirate skeleton figure. Totally cool. That was a nice day. Also, that class in general is always good. Plus, the boy was absent, so it was just the three girls, so we did some work, but we also spent a lot of time just shooting the shit.

This week should be better. Two normal days of work, then on Wednesday there’s no teaching at all because it’s just a day of games and bullshit for Children’s Day. Then we get Thursday off. Usually we only do the cool shit for our kindergarten classes, but even in the afternoon we won’t have class. In the afternoon, we’re setting up different stations for games or what not. I’m in charge of a three-legged race. Should be a good time. I just hope to Christ it doesn’t rain.

Last night was just a good night out in Cheonan. Two good Saturdays in Cheonan in a row? The Rapture must be coming. Hit up the Chinese restaurant that has lamb skewers, then a makeolli bar, the odeng bar for some soju, a concert at Banana Bar (which as scrooegey as this is — was too fucking loud, so I spent most of the time outside chatting), and finally a noraebang. Pretty long night out, but a good’un.

Recent pictures:

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/fbx/?set=a.10100645982333145.3051048.12437843&l=623743d3fb

Leave a Reply

