A Rather Expensive Weekend

Well, this weekend had it’s ups and downs. To start with, it was a three day weekend. Monday is Memorial Day in Korea, so no school today. I needed the rest, too. Friday I went to Pyeongtaek to hang out with a Korean friend, but I came back before midnight and went to Dolce. I was probably the only person there not around 40. Ended up getting drunk enough to do noraebang in the bar. And if you know me, you know how I refuse to sing. Good times, though. I distinctly remember singing “Zombies” by The Cranberries.

Saturday, I went to Songtan to go hashing. I had already decided that I was actually going to do the running trail. We also had visitors from Kuala Lumpur, where the originally hash group started in 1938. They were all Malaysians in their mid 50s to 60s. But they were awesome people. I mentioned I had a vacation coming up at the end of July and they invited me to Malaysia and said they’d take care of me and I could go hashing with them. I don’t know what “take care of” means exactly. I don’t know if they’d put me up so I didn’t have to pay for a hotel or something, but they were extremely kind people. Really fun.

The trail was good, too. About 5K from what someone with a fancy schmancy runner’s watch told me. It went through hill and dale and up construction walls. Climbing the 50 foot wall was pretty fun. And sliding down the 45 degree slope to get down was interesting. A couple people biffed it there.I nearly lost it myself. I was surprised by my ability to keep up with the more experienced runners. I actually finished about 5th out of maybe 20 people. Afterwards, we just went back to Songtan (the trail actually took us to the subway station and had us go four stops) and drank all night.

Saturday two people got their hash names, which was an interesting process. They were subjected to all kinds of personal questions, and any clever name you could think of you’d quietly tell to someone writing it down. After all the questions and stories, the namees left and we voted on names by round of applause. It was pretty funny. After all the events were taken care of, we just spent the night drinking at bars in Songtan. It was all right. Nothing of any particular note though.

Sunday afternoon, I came back to find my bike missing from Dujeong station. I was upset, but there wasn’t anything I could really do about it. It didn’t even have a license plate, and there’s a chance that I’m driving illegally without a license, so I coudln’t really call the cops or anything. Kind of reserved myself to buying a new bike whenever possible and biting the bullet and going back to the bus for awhile.

I went to the gym, but as soon as I started working out, my muscles were like “aw, hell naw” and wouldn’t work. I was just too tired. Not strength at all. And I felt like throwing up. I think some Thai food I had in Songtan is doing a tune up job on my insides right now. After about half of my normal work out, I just gave up and went home. I felt super shitty. Super tired, super sore, super sick. Didn’t do much the rest of the day besides watch a movie.

Today, I didn’t do much either. I went to see the new X-Men movie with a friend. On the way, I saw my bike parked not far from where I had left it. After the movie, I went back and checked it out. They had opened up the steering column and fucked it up pretty bad. I pushed it to a bike shop near my house and they took a look at it. It’s about $330 to fix like five parts on the bike. They really fucked it up. They didn’t appear to steal anything, which just makes it more confusing. Like they just wanted to vandalize the bike. Ugh.

Still, I should be positive about it. First of all, I’m really lucky to have found my bike at all. It’s certainly easier to fix a bike for $330 than it is to buy a new one for $1000. Also, the simple fact that I’m financially stable enough to have the extra $330 around for unexpected costs like this is great. At any other point in my life, these $330 would have been really hard to come by. So I guess I should be thankful for the little things.

One Response to “A Rather Expensive Weekend”

  1. That’s awesome you were able to keep up with everything, and even though you didn’t feel like it, you still went to the gym! Way to push through it. I had a tough run today myself but like you at the end of your post–staying positive!

    Sorry to hear about your bike. I seriously was considering getting one of my own after my experience on yours. Still, I think it was pretty cool. One day I will get one, when I get my driver’s license.

    Well, take it easy and have an awesome day!

Leave a Reply

