Rainy Days Ahead

Well, as the students have told me from what they gathered from the news, the rainy season is here. I was originally told last year the rainy season started in late July. It didn’t hit until mid-August. Now it’s a month early. Korean weather is worse than Ohio. Honestly.

I’ve been mad busy. Last Friday I went to Seoul to meet some people. Had a nice dinner then went clubbing. Came back to Cheonan on Saturday and bummed around a bit before meeting some people in the park for a bit of outside drinking (seriously, why is drinking outside not legal in America?) and then headed to a bar for awhile, where we continued to drink mostly outside. Met an old Korean friend I hadn’t seen in like over 6 months there, so it was good to see him again.

Last Thursday I did my monthly test at the gym. I lost 2 kg, which I was initially pretty pleased with. Apparently this was not good enough. The trainer was kind of giving me shit for only losing 2 kg, asking me about what I’d been doing in the gym (exactly what he told me), my diet (98% Korean food), and my drinking (a lot). He ended up telling me I need to exercise harder and drink less. From what I’ve heard, the electric machines are notoriously inaccurate, but still, it’s not bad advice in and of itself. So I’ve gone to the gym the past five days in a row, doing higher weights, more reps, and staying on the treadmill longer. Haven’t had a drink since Saturday. I don’t normally drink much during the week, but sometimes if I meet a friend for dinner I have a beer or two, and I suppose those add up as well.

I’m making a goal of 85 kg in the next 2-3 months. I think it’s fairly doable, certainly by September. When I get there I plan on treating myself to a clothes shopping spree. Already all my clothes are like… pretty goddamn big on me. It’s getting a bit ridiculous. I need pretty much a full wardrobe.

Though, one thing I’ve always kind of been afraid of about getting into shape is starting to happen. I think I’m becoming a bit more conceited. Before I always hated being in pictures or looking in a mirror, because I didn’t like what I saw, but now I’m taking any opportunity to jump into a picture or check myself out in a mirror like “Damn he’s fine.” No lie, two days ago I literally stood in front of a mirror and flexed my calves for like 5 minutes. Having some self-confidence and -esteem is nice for once, but I don’t want to get carried away.

The only other real notable thing this week so far was my open class yesterday. From the seven students I have, seven moms came and four dads came. I was super stressed about it. We spent like two weeks practicing the stuff, but kids are so unpredictable in these kind of situations. Behavior-wise they were great. Nobody acting a fool. But at the beginning they were a bit quiet and weren’t speaking in full sentences, which is like one of the big selling points of the school. They’re not just teaching kids to read, but to actually verbally communicate with a native speaker. By the end they were getting better and better, and we played a spelling game for a couple minutes at the end that went pretty well.

The only catch was one student. She’s easily the lowest level, and everyone at the school was worried about how she’d do. I guess her mother has been thinking of pulling her from the school for awhile. During most of the class she was quiet, and when the other kids were speaking, she just mumbled along a step or so behind. I thought she did very well on the spelling game, but that probably wasn’t enough. She wasn’t in school today. I think she might be leaving.

I take students leaving very personally. I really, really tried my best to help her, and she was definitely showing improvement. But to be honest, not having her there today made the class way easier. I feel a bit bad saying it, but holding her hand through everything really slowed the whole class down. Maybe it would be best for her to go to a less intense school and start some of the phonics all over again from scratch.

Well, like the title says, it’s apparently the rainy season now. I drove to work all right, but it poured all goddamn day. Got soaked on the ride home. Decided to bus it to the gym tonight, which makes the whole journey take much, much longer than usual. So I’m skipping my normal Thursday routine of pool and movie nights to write this and maybe study a bit of Korean. Guess I better stop procrastinating and get to it.

Leave a Reply

